What's new

Router / hole cutting question (1 Viewer)

Todd Stout

Screenwriter
I now have the parts to build my Adire Kit 281s and Kit 81s but I'm not exactly sure how to make the holes in the front baffles. I notice from reading through old posts that most of you use plunge routers to cut out driver openings and to rabbet the openings. I have access to my dad's workshop which has just about everything you can imagine as far as tools go but he only has a Craftsmen fixed base router (that is currently mounted in a table). Will a fixed base router work for this?

I am familiar in the use of most of the tools in his workshop but I have never used a router before. Can you recommend a source for information (hopefully online) on using routers, especially as they relate to cutting holes and rabbeting?

Thank you.

Robin Smith

Stunt Coordinator
If you are adventurous you can make your own circle jig fairly cheaply.

I borrowed mine from a friend. He simply cut a tear drop shape out of perspex with the fatter end being the same diameter as the router base and the skinny pointy end extending roughly 2 feet away.

Then you countersink and drill some holes using the router base as a template and attach the router to the bigger end of the perspex.

You can use the arm extension to guide the router in a circle by drilling a hole through it at the right point.

If you have no idea what I am talking about let me know and I'll try and take a picture of it before I return the router. If anyone has something similar and has a pic of it, post it up as I am sure my description sucks.

Alternately, you can buy a Jasper Circle Jig but they are not cheap. Do a search on the DIY forum for Jasper and you'll get some results.

A Fixed router is fine for routing the circles, the plunge is just a little easier.

Hope this helps

Robin Smith

alan fallert

Agent
Does anybody have any pictures of thier homade circle jig. I need to build one for my router to cut out some endcaps. THANKS.