What's new

A few last questions about routering and sonotube? (1 Viewer)

HungLe

Agent
I got myself a Ryobi fixed base router and made a circle guide for it based on Warrick's. Anyways, I have never used a router before so can you guys give pointers? I read that the direction that I thrust the router varies with each router.
My manual says "the motor and bit revolve in a clockwise direction and it tells me to thrust the router in the same direction that the leading edge of the bit is moving or in short, the thrust should be in a direction that keeps the sharp edges of the bit continuously biting straight into new (uncut) wood."
What does all that mean in plain english?

Also how do I go about cutting into the wood exactly. The manual tells me how to set the base zero depth of cut when the cutter is touching the wood and how to increase the depth but not clear on how I actually go about cutting/feeding the wood.
I know I have to take several passes but do I say start with 1/8 inch set deep into the surface or drill a hole before?

And last question not router related is where can I get those black farbric that goes over the tube? What are they called?

Ronnie Ferrell

Second Unit
If the bit turns clockwise and you have the router on the edge of a piece of wood with the router between you and the wood, you would move from left to right. If the router is on the back edge of the wood with the wood between you and the router, you would move the router right to left.
Here is the best analogy I can think of. You do not want the router bit and wood to be like a wheel against the road. You want the bit and wood to be like the wheel of a car that is being pushed forward while it is in reverse with the wheels spinning backwards against the road. You want to push the bit into the cut. OK, thats a stupid analogy... ;)