What's new

Repairing dead digital tuner in Sony LCD TV? (1 Viewer)

ManW_TheUncool

His Own Fool
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
ManW
Hi, y'all.

Seems that the OTA digital tuners in Sony's Bravia line of LCD HDTVs may be quite prone to failure, and my in-laws' 2-yo, out-of-warranty unit (model KDL-40V4100) seems to have just such a failure and recently stopped receiving any OTA digital broadcasts -- they used to receive a ton of them, and a new, smaller Samsung LCD picks up even more right now.

Had a hard time finding all that much info on this issue, but did find this discussion thread on some Aussie forum site w/ some potential fix for it. However, I'm not experienced w/ (de)soldering anything, let alone trying to make sure it's actually a simple enough problem w/ a super-tiny, surface mount fuse (as discussed throughout most of that thread):

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1116800

My in-laws' previous Samsung DLP RPTV also had a colorwheel failure-of-sorts, ie. the fairly common Samsung colorwheel noise problem that's probably caused by issues w/ the device's ballbearing assembly AFAIK, and needed to be replaced (by moi of course). Although that colorwheel repair/replacement work isn't exactly quick-and-easy, it's certainly very doable for anyone who's handy enough w/ sifting thru the innards of a modestly complicated computerized assembly w/ some screwdrivers, etc and the help of various online resources, including a YouTube video series that I found useful as a guide/reference point to what one might find different depending on the exact RPTV model. And no, no (de)soldering nor extra, board-level electrical/electronic detective work needed for that repair (though some bit of detective work was needed to id all the right assembled parts and places since they differ some depending on the model).