What's new

Quick Veneer Question (1 Viewer)

Garret_O

Agent
Hey all-

Well I've finally gotten around to nearly completing my Thunder 12.3 box. (Outer side panels glue tonight)

Now I need to think about the finish. I was searching through the threads here and it looks like one of the best places to shop is tapeease.com.

Ok, so I'm looking at the 4'x8' maple 10ml paper-backed sheets. But some also mention NBL Wood backed. Since I am a veneer beginner and this is my first box, would you recommend I start out with the 10ml paper-backed?

I'll most likely have to round the edges of my sub, 3/4" (the lines aren't exactly straight damn circ saw, damn measuring).

I'll search for more tips but I was wondering if you all thought 10ml would be fine, even for rounded edges.

Lastly, how does tapeease ship a 4'x8' 10ml sheet? It is 1/32" thick- uhh UPS would crack that thing! Think I should check Home Depot?
THanks
Garret

Pete Mazz

Supporting Actor
The substrate has to be damn near perfect to get 10 mil veneer to look good. The NBL is much more forgiving and probably easier to work with for the beginner. It'll wrap easily over a 3/4" rounded corner.

The veneer will come rolled up in a 4' high box. I've never had a problem.

Pete

Darren_T

Second Unit
I actually prefer 10mil for a lot of uses. It is thinner so you don't see the edge lines nearly as much which results in a solid wood appearance. The 10 mil is much easier to bend around a 3/4" radius also. With the NBL you have to be very careful on a 3/4" radius as it is at the limits of the NBL capability and it can crack rather easily.

I don't agree that the NBL is more forgiving. I find just the opposite. Although a good point it made in that you can't have a lumpy surface when laminating with the thinner 10 mil material.