What's new

Projector versus TV (1 Viewer)

Tsiege

Auditioning
Real Name
Tristan Siegel
So I'm debating about whether or not to buy a projector or TV, I'm a college student and money is an issue as is space. So I was leaning towards picking up an HD projector for hopefully a little under 1000. My friend at school had a projector and I fell in love with the idea and was intending on buying one when my friend showed me a plasma 42 inch going for around 450. So now I'm sure what to do, should I go with a projector or a TV? Here are some things going into my decision:

1) I don't watch much TV and it would really be used for the occasional movie and video game playing.

2) Size, if I'm living in a dorm room most of the year and then in a cramped room at home I need something that can travel well in a packed car and not take up too much space.

3) Money, funds are limited because I'm trying to save as much as I can and would not like to spend 1000 dollars and be disappointed.

4) While this isn't a major concern I try to be as eco friendly as possible and I know HD TVs especially plasmas can energy consuming but I honestly don't know anything about projectors energy consumption.

With the exceptions of reason 3 I would have said straight away gone with the TV, any advice and good projectors or TVs that someone would recommend?

Thanks a lot,

Tristan

gartronics

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Garry