What's new

Newbie needs help with a dumb question or 2. (1 Viewer)

David RG

Auditioning
Hi, This is my first time posting on these forums.

I got a emerson AM/FM STEREO RECIEVER/DVD/CD/ PLAYER AV101 for christmas. Never really experiencing surround sound outside the movie theatres, i never knew what i was missing and now i think i'm hooked. Anyways, after about 7 days of use it has stopped working. I am going to and get a refund on it and spend that money, plus some, on a new system.

Basically i got my Xbox, which i use for dvds also, and my own cd player. what i think i'm looking for, being a newbie i'm not 100% sure this is what i need, is a surround sound reciever and with 6 speakers. I'd appreciate it if anyone can explain to me what basic setup, i don't need anything flashy, i should get and explain it to me in laymans terms how it works. I don't want to go out and waste my money on something i don't need.

thnx

Andrew O'Brien

Stunt Coordinator
When you said "I think I am hooked" what were you refering to? Was just that the sound quality of the Emerson system was better than what you were used to, or was it the actual surround sound effects of the 5 or six speakers? If it was just the sound quality in general, was it the bass caused by the sub-woofer?

If it was the surround sound effects then replacing your Emerson with a low-end Home Theater in-a-box system is likely what you will be happy with. Look at you local store for a Sony or Pioneer system, listen to them and pick what you think sounds best.

If , what got you hooked was simply the fidelity of the sound, you are right...maybe you don'r actually "need" a surround sound system. You might just to invest in a new receiver and build up a system gradually.

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ed