Need info on building HT....Help???

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by asi_a, Sep 21, 2004.

1. asi_a

asi_a Agent

Hi all..I'm a newbie to this site so please excuse the dumb questions I may ask, before I start I just want you to know what I am looking for in my HT. Obviously I want the best for as little as possible but idealy i'd like to get it(sound&pic) done for no more then $4k. The room I have is about 25'x18' with 9' ceilings and is located on the second floor of my two story house. I heard the Denon 2805 is a good receiver? is there a better one for less then the $620 I found the Denon for? What would you recommend for speakers? should I run 1 or 2 subs? and finally what's a good HD projector to look at? I would really appreciate your suggestions and advise.
    Thanks in advance.
    Asi

2. Mike~Sileck

Mike~Sileck Supporting Actor

Welcome to the forum!! There are no stupid questions here!

Hope everyone can get you running a great HT, as they helped me do not so long ago....

Mike

3. asi_a

asi_a Agent

Thanks Mike. I hope so too.

4. ChadLB

ChadLB Screenwriter

Do you know if you want floor standing or bookshelf for up front:

Rundown

Receivers to look at:
    Denon 2805, Yamaha 5790, Pioneer 1014, HK's

Projectors:
    Infocus 4805 or 5000, Sanyo Z2, Panny 500

Subs:
    SVS, HSU,

Speakers:
    Axiom, Rockets, Swans, HTD

Make a package from the above.....

5. asi_a

asi_a Agent

I was thinking of building out the front wall about 20" and going with a perforated screen with all the front speakers and the subs behind the screen, is that a good idea or is there a better way to hide the front speakers? I will try to put together a package from the items you recommended Chad, I just hope my budget will be sufficient. Thanks for your help so far.
    Asi

6. ChadLB

ChadLB Screenwriter

I know some people have done that but not sure what was needed to do it correctly.