complete "newbie"

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by john_bal, May 15, 2004.

1. john_bal

john_bal Auditioning

I'm a complete newbie to "home theatre" so please forgive me if my questions sound a bit dumb. The last time I was involved in sound systems was back in the 70's when hi-fi was all the rage.

Recently I purchased a 66cm (i.e. 26") widescreen TV and I want to piece together a reasonably small home theatre system (i.e. nothing too ellaborate).

Hence - the questions:

(1) What equipment will I need to purchase? i.e. speakers etc and how much should I spend considering I don't want anything "too ellaborate"?

(2) What sort of speaker wattages would I need, considering the area where It'll be located is in the Lounge of an "L" shaped open Lounge/Dining area where the width of the "L" is 25'8" and its height is 14'2"? In this area the lounge measures 16'2" wide x 14'2" high and the Dining area is 9'6" wide x 10' high. In this setup the TV will need to go against the 14'2" wall.

(3) What is the optimum length to width ratio of a home theatre to get the best acoustics?

Thanks for any help given.

2. Lyle_E

Lyle_E Stunt Coordinator

Well being a newbie also... Welcome...

First dont feel bad we all stumble around at first so no question is stupid - wish i would have come here first before i bought my lil HT setup.
    Second you could not have come to a better place to ask questions.

Myself - I started with a Onkyo HTiB that cost about 600 and I am happy with it

You would have to ask yourself - 'what kind of budget am i working with?'

You could spend $100 up thousands of dollars and these guys can give you a good idea on where to start.

Ill let everyone else pipe in now [​IMG]

3. GeorgeAB

GeorgeAB Second Unit

G. Alan Brown