What's new

Need Advice/Help on building a 5.1, 5.2, 7.1, 7.2 HT (1 Viewer)

titanium

Auditioning
Real Name
Ty
Hello Audiophile,

Please go easy on me and a noob here when it comes to HT. I do apologize as I know thread like this comes up all the time, but everyone's situation and configuration are different.

I've been running my current system for quite sometime now and it's time to upgrade or replace to a much better HT system that will last me 10-30+ years. My current budget is $10,000 excluding the TV. If I can spend less, great!

This is not a dedicated HT room. This will be in the living room and the size is 32'x20' (640sqft). We primarily will be using this HT system to play movies, music, and some occasion games. Music is more Trance, Hip Hop, and Rap.

I need real world advice and experience as to what would be my best option. I'm not against using vintage speakers or the newest and greatest speakers. Whatever will bring out the best sound for the price is what i'm looking for.

I would love to implement a 7.1 or 7.2 system, but I understand price will be a huge factor here so I will consider a 5.1 or 5.2 system as well. Whatever brands and models you can provide would be greatly appreciated. I would also like to run a separate setup as well to fully bring out the potential on the speakers.

Below here is my very basic current simple setup:

Denon AVR-790

2 Audiofile 830LR floorstanding speaker

1 Klipsch RC52 Center

1 Klipsch RW10 Subwoofer

titanium

Auditioning
Real Name
Ty
In separates, I mean: one box for the tuner and preamplifier/processor, and another for the amplification.

My 790 recently died on me.

titanium

Auditioning
Real Name
Ty
Thank you and will head over there for the receiver. In the mean time, anyone here have any recommendations on speakers?

Since, I'm getting lack of response, here's what I have come up with.

2 Paradigm S6 v2

2 Klipsch RFII

1 Klipsch RC-64II

2 SVS PB13 ultra ported

Thoughts?

ArmSC

Supporting Actor