What's new

Monster RCA cables really better? (1 Viewer)

Walter_M

Grip
I'm a home theater newbie and I am wondering if Monster RCA cables really make a difference compared to no-name RCA cables?
I'm especially concerned about a 30 foot RCA cable run I have to a subwoofer. For that I'm using a relatively inexpensive RCA cable that must be about 10 years old. Seems to work fine (but what do I know--I'm new at this), however would it be worth $50 to replace it with a 30 Monster RCA cable?
I have the same question for RCA runs between DVD player and monitor, runs between components, etc.
Thanks.
------------------
--Walter_M

Mike LS

Supporting Actor
I think it's mostly personal preference. I don't buy into the hype that Monster builds. Sure, they make good quality cables, but I feel like you can get other brands that are just as well made and perform the same for at least half of what you'd pay for Monster.
Acoustic Research (AR) is one example. I'd put their cables up agains Monster any day and I think they'd perform exactly the same. The difference? $$$$$
I guess the thing that has turned me off to Monster is pushy salespeople. I try to stay away from buying components at BB or CC, but from time to time they just have the best price on what I want.
Their sales folks push Monster cables so hard it makes me not even want to buy anything from them. Since that's the only brand of cable they carry.....it almost seems like they get a higher cut of cable sales than other product.
Anyhow, I'd do a side by side sometime and see what you think for yourself. You really can't go wrong with Monster product, but I feel like you can get a much better value without sacrificing quality.

Walter_M

Grip
Thanks for the tip, Mike. I bought my speakers at BB and the only thing they pushed harder than Monster cables are the extended service plans.
I'll check out Accoustic Research.
--Walt

Jeff Blair

Second Unit