What's new

Let's Talk Scotch / Whisky (1 Viewer)

JoshF

Supporting Actor
So with the beer thread going strong, I'd like to get a little talk-on about my drink of late, Scotch. My recent purchase was a 10-year Balvenie, which I enjoy on the rocks (I know, sacrilege).

I'm a Scotch newbie, for the most part. I've really only been exposed to Dewars, Dahlwhinnie, and Chivas. I'm trying to branch out.

So... any other Scotch drinkers?

Walt N

Second Unit
I like the single malt stuff. Anything the starts with "Glen" in the name is usually good and my favorite is "The Macallan" www.macallan.com. If you've only tried blended scotches so far, try a single malt scotch and see what you think. They're very different from the usual stuff and many find them to be much smoother. The downside is that they're not cheap.

Bill_Weinreich

Second Unit
Scotch can definitely be an aquired taste and can get VERY expensive when you get more into it, but what hobby doesn't? I like the Glenlivet and Glenfiddich brands personally. Partial to the Glenfiddich Pure Malt Reserve (resonably priced at under $50) and the Glenlivet 12yr Single malt. Sampled the 21yr Glenlivet "archive" once but couldn't tear away $160 for a bottle for myself:frowning: . Checked out a bottle of Johnny Walker Blue Label but it was a bit over $350. Needless to say it stayed on the shelf.
Cheers!
Bill

Mike St.Louis

Supporting Actor
The father of a friend of mine passed away about a year ago. At the wake we had bottles of Johnny Walker Blue Label. His dad had bought a bottle for all his friends plus a few for the wake.

I'm not much of a scotch drinker but JW was pretty easy to drink. I don't know if it is worth the money but it was a nice gesture.

My friend got me to buy him 12 bottles of Laphraug (sp?) because it is half the price here. I didn't try it but he said it is good.

Henry Gale

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Henry Gale
I enjoy 18 year old The Macallan and keep a bottle around.