What's new

i have no work experience - help me write my resume! (1 Viewer)

felix_suwarno

Screenwriter
hi all, i just got a masters degree on computer graphics, and i am going to start a new chapter in my life.

but the problem is, i dont have any work experience. i spent my early years learning english ( my toefl score was 620 out of 670 )...now i dont know what to put on my resume.

i dont even know what to put under "achievement" or "accomplishment" !

my friends put everything they can into their "Technical skills" section. they put software like macromedia flash, even though they only knew a little bit about it. well, i knew lots of things a little bit, but i dont dare listing these software in my resume because...well, i only knew a little bit! i only put the software that i am proficient with...and when i say proficient, that means i am an advanced user.

so please help!

thanks in advance

Drue Elrick

Stunt Coordinator
Well, think back through your life and write down your accomplishments. One biggie already stands out - you learned English and got a huge score! That should show you are not afraid of challenges, are willing to work hard, etc.

This also shows that you are bilingual. Flaunt it. Lots of places want bilingual people - if you don't tell them, they won't know!

Look at the projects you did while earning your Master's degree and Bachelor's degree. Surely you did some? Did they involve planning? Research? Cooperation in a group setting? What skills and techniques did you use? What stuff did you learn or expand on? Do not discount your Bachelors and Masters time as non-experience. Its a hell of a lot of experience!

ANY jobs you've done in the past count. Retail sales? That involves communication, learning tasks, scheduling, etc.

In the meantime, get a job - ANY job. If you show you were working right after you graduated, it shows you've got drive and sense - you didn't waste your time doing 'nothing' trying to get the 'perfect' job.