How do you hook up Xbox over LAN?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jared_B, Jan 17, 2002.

  1. Jared_B

    Jared_B Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been wondering this for a while.

    How do you hook up multiple Xbox's to play over a LAN? Do you have to have a computer? Hub? Do you have to have a computer with network card? Please help the LAN illiterate.

    Thanks,
     
  2. Chris Bardon

    Chris Bardon Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,059
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have 2 boxes, just an ethernet cable will do. 3 or more? Just plug em all into a hub. Actually works quite nicely.
     
  3. JustinT

    JustinT Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have dsl networked in our house through a router. Just plug the xbox into the router...works like a charm!
     
  4. Scott FP

    Scott FP Agent

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    On a Xbox to Xbox hook up is it straight ethernet or cross over?

    Another question for those that have LAN. How does the sound work? Say you were playing NASCAR over a LAN. I would imagine each TV would produce the sounds of the game as if you were playing by yourself?

    I noticed in split screen mode it was hard to tell if the sounds I was hearing related to my car or the other player.
     
  5. Gary King

    Gary King Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 1999
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't speak for NASCAR, but the only sounds you hear in Halo over a LAN are what the players *on your screen* would hear.

    For Xbox->Xbox hookups, you use a crossover cable. For hub-based connections, use a straight cable.
     

Share This Page