Hooking up a subwoofer

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by perrin, Oct 11, 2001.

  1. perrin

    perrin Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am considering in buying the Denon 2802, and I am curious how you hooking up a subwoofer on this receiver. I have looked at the back of this receiver, but all I see is a space for the preout. Do I need an amplifier to do this?
    Thanks
     
  2. Tom Vodhanel

    Tom Vodhanel Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 1998
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes, you'll need to use an amplifier. The amp could be built into the subwoofer(a.k.a. *powered subwoofer*)...or it could be a seperate/external amplifier dedicated for subwoofer usage(like HSU does).
    TV
     
  3. Craig W

    Craig W Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 1999
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, you need to buy a powered sub or buy an external amp for a passive sub. Most receivers only have a preout for the sub. In fact I do not know of any receivers that have an internal amp for the sub. I believe there are some separates that include an extra amp channel for the sub.
     
  4. Ryan Schnacke

    Ryan Schnacke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    0
    Technics used to sell receivers with a built-in subwoofer amp. I think they also sold a passive subwoofer to use with it. I believe these were Pro-logic only receivers or maybe DD-ready.
     

Share This Page