What's new
World Wide Stereo

Fixing up an old home theater- complete beginner overwhelmed! (1 Viewer)

jackb1117

Auditioning
Real Name
Jack
So I have been browsing this forum for a few days and the amount of expertise and information here is- overwhelming, to say the least!

We moved into a new (to us) house a few years ago- they had some semblance of a home theater setup in the basement that life has kept us too busy to really look into. I decided a few days ago that I want to try to bring it back to life. There is an existing screen & overhead projector mount, but no speakers or projector. So I am hoping to figure out the correct projector to buy and hopefully pair a couple of wireless speakers, but am completely clueless on how to begin.

To start (since I am a visual learner) I took a few photos and added what I figured may be relevant dimensions that would play into selection. I also took a picture of the old (non-working) projector that was left behind in case that yields any clues. I am looking for something functional but not top of the line; probably some general movie watching with the kids. No specific budget but since I am not looking for anything much more than a basic setup, hoping to keep it reasonable.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• basement_projector3.png
    basement_projector3.png
    924.8 KB · Views: 232
  • basement_projector2.png
    basement_projector2.png
    808.7 KB · Views: 227
  • basement_projector.png
    basement_projector.png
    797.4 KB · Views: 227

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
Unless you're planning to remove the built-in cabinets, don't waste your time and money setting up a projection system. You've only got room for a <80" 16:9 screen in that space. It's cheaper and better to buy a 70" or 80" LCD or OLED 4K TV.

You can get a budget model 75" 4K TV for about $750 that should fit that space. It will look better and require less maintenance than any projector system you'd buy for the same price.