Dolby Pro Logic 1 for music?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Sacha_C, Apr 20, 2003.

  1. Sacha_C

    Sacha_C Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought pro logic 1 was only for movies, but I just saw my uncle's car and the sound system in it has Dolby Surround Pro Logic. For some reason it seemed to sound better than my old mini system that had pro logic, is there a version of pro logic 1 for music? I thougth only PL II was for msuic.

    Thanks
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Pro logic can be applied to any stereo analog source, doesn't matter if it is music or movie. Some movies and TV broadcasts are/were encoded with Dolby Surround, which PL/PLII are designed to decode and make use of.
     
  3. Sacha_C

    Sacha_C Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know that but for music pro logic normally makes the sound horrible and only works well with movies and TV, but this was in a car that only plays music so why put Pro Logic 1 if it only works well for movies?

    Thanks
     
  4. Carl Johnson

    Carl Johnson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Carl III
    A car deck with a Dolby symbol probably stands for Dolby noise reduction in the cassette deck. I've never heard of pro logic being used in a car.
     
  5. Sacha_C

    Sacha_C Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, the sign said "Dolby Surround Pro Logic" just like the sign on my old minisystem.
     
  6. Carl Johnson

    Carl Johnson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Carl III
    It absolutely could be done but I've never heard of a car stereo that separates center, main, and surround channels.
     
  7. Sacha_C

    Sacha_C Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well it did have 3 speakers in front and 2 in the back. This is a very nice car, there's even a different key for each driver and it adjusts the seat, temperature, radio, according to the current driver's last settings. So if his wife likes the seat low and channel 95.9, those settings are automatically applied as soon as she enters the key, then when the other takes the car it switches everything back to his settings!
     
  8. Marc H

    Marc H Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A good stereo recording can sound good in ProLogic, with a tasteful amount of delay on the rear effects. If the recording does not have great stereo seperation then too much comes from the centre channel though IMHO.
     
  9. Danny Tse

    Danny Tse Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dolby Pro-Logic can be somewhat recording-dependent. Unless the recording itself was specifically recorded in Dolby Surround, then it's a hit-and-miss situation with stereo recordings decoded in Pro-Logic.

    RCA used to issue classical recordings in Pro-Logic (or at least Dolby Surround). I have a Henry Mancini Halloween CD single (with a glow-in-the-dark skull on the label side) that was encoded in Dolby Surround. Back in the late 80s and early 90s, it was quite a good demo disc with my AudioSource Dolby Surround decoder and Radio Shack Minimus 7 surround speakers (a classic that I still have).
     
  10. Marc H

    Marc H Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Volvo is putting ProLogic II into their systems starting now.
     

Share This Page