What's new

Are these subs ok? (1 Viewer)

Jose G

Supporting Actor
I can't spend a lot- was thinking of getting a $100 sub for now and later upgrade to an SVS or HSU later on after trying out a sub. This will be my firt sub ever! I have a height limit of 16 inches for the sub, so the SVS is out for now anyway.

The $100 sub was just to have
something in the meantime. I was thinking of the DLS 10" POWERED SUBWOOFER SYSTEM for $100 (someone here at HTF said it was pretty good
as a starter). You can find it at the partsexpress web site. Its said to have: "...a 12 dB electronic low pass filter that is continuously variable from 40 to 160 Hz. It also features a 6 dB high pass filter (125 Hz, 8 ohm) output for satellite speakers. * Frequency response: 30-160 Hz ."

One question: So how low does this go? 40Hz or 30Hz? Obviously I'm new to all this.

Another inexpensive sub I heard about was a AUDIOSOURCE SUB (15" I think) that would need some extra poly fill.

And finally I ask about this one (Which I think may be the way to go but then I hope not to upgrade at all):

The 10" TITANIC VANCE SUBWOOFER KIT from partsexpress. At $350, is this a good buy?

I know most of you will say save up and get a monster, but I want the sub NOW!

One more Q: Will prices on subs drop after christmas?

Ian J

Auditioning
My philosophy has always been that a poor subwoofer is worse than no subwoofer at all. I have never heard of any of the makes that you listed as they are not available in England but you can't get a decent subwoofer over here for less than $500.

Specs are also misleading and you shouldn't take much notice of them. One in UK claims to go down to 20Hz but what they don't tell you is that it is at -10Db.

Geoff L

Screenwriter
Real Name
Geoff