What's new

Advice on DIY Sub Components (1 Viewer)

Anthony AC

Grip
G'day people,

I am wanting to undertake a DIY sub project and have sourced the following main components. I would appreciate your thoughts on the amp and driver I have chosen. Please note that I am coming from a commercial 100W - 8" sub (so I would expect this to be a big step up), and have serious WAF to account for. This driver cost is roughly half the price for a Peerless XLS/12 or Adire Shiva here in Australia. Some modelling in WINISD shows, I think, pretty good expectations, but I am far from an expert.

Your thoughts on if this a worthwhile purchase (particularly for a non audiophile). Thanks.
(I also posted this in Speakers & Subwoofers, then thought this forum might be more applicable, hope this is ok)

Anthony AC

Grip
Thanks Bryan. I am curious as to why you say it "looks like a car sub"?

The T/S specs seem to model fairly well nevertheless.

Sensitivity - SPL - 1Watt @ 1 metre: 88.17
Voice Coil Resistance (Re): 3.5 Ohms
Resonant Frequency (Fs): 25.58Hz
Mechanical Q Factor (Qms): 3.843
Electrical Q Factor (Qes): 0.458
Total Q Factor (Qts): 0.409
Equivalent Volume (Vas): 93.42 Lt
Cone Area: 0.049 Sq m
Xmax: 10.5mm

And I appreciate the fact that you can buy better, but unfortunately for me that comes at a price.

Ashley Carr

Auditioning
Being an employee of Jaycar, I'd say you'd be better off getting the 12" 4 Ohm Carbon Fibre woofer. It's cheaper, is more efficient (93dB), and IMO sounds better. Depends on what sort of cabinet you're going to use though.

IIRC Whatmough used to make a sub called the Typhoon using the Carbon fibre driver and the amp you mentioned, in a vented cabinet. The review I read was very favourable. But looking at the website, that sub has been replaced by a newer model.

Edit: Just out of curiosity, who is the Oz distributor for the Peerless sub?

Isaac C

Stunt Coordinator