What's new

Acoustic Energy Aegis Evo Series (1 Viewer)

Josh Wears

Auditioning
Hello, I am just about to buy a Denon AVR-2803 (or a AVR-2805 depending on price and availablity), and both receivers have 7 channels although the 2805 comes with Pro Logic IIx which sounds somewhat nice to me. Now for the speakers, this is where I am not quite sure on what would be best for me. I don't exactly have a large budget because I am just a high school student but I can buy speakers over time which would make me perfectly happy. For a while I was looking into Infinities Primus series mostly because of my lack of budget and my anxiety to get this system going. This sounded good because I could get 7 speakers for a reletively cheap price, but I am also aware that there 7.1 format so figured that I could get 5 really nice home theater speakers and then get the extra 2 sometime later on down the road. So I looked into the Acoustic Energy Aegis Evo Series, which has been highly praised by What Hi-Fi? magazine, and I wouldn't need a sub becuase I already have an ok sub for now. But of course I cannot find any sites in the US that sell these, and their price tag contains some larger numbers. So I was wondering if it would not be that much of an upgrade from the Primus series? I want this system to sound really good and I don't mind waiting to get more money. And for a second question, even though this is the speaker forum the AVR-2803 is a 7 x 90 and a semi-older model, and the AVR-2805 is 7 x 100 and is a brand new model. Thanks for your opinions.

Josh

Mike SJ

Supporting Actor
budget?

im up in KC too :)

I believe Kief's in Lawrence sell AE

PS what is your sub?

Josh Wears

Auditioning