What's new

A Complete Change of Life: Going Back to School With a Learning Disability (1 Viewer)

Jason_Els

Screenwriter
OK, I'm seriously pissed off. The job just cut my pay by $16. a month due to a reassessment of hour allocation for shift differential. I've had it. I've put up with more crap since our management change and this is just one more example of how a good job can be ruined by incompetant management.

I want to chuck it all and go back to college and finish my degree. I expect I'll have at least 3 years to go and I will likely have to work while going to school. I'd like to get something in network security or network management/engineering but.... and this is a kicker... I have an eighth grade math capability and all the curricula I see require advanced mathematics like calculus and trigonometery. I currently work as a network support technician but feel I'm against the wall without a bachelor's degree. I'm not earning what I need and there doesn't appear to be any advancement.

I'd like some ideas about going to school as close to full-time as possible while working full-time as well. There are no schools near where I am so I will have to move somewhere else. I'm not married and don't have a family so I can pretty much just uproot and go.

My problems, as I see it, are that I don't have the math ability to get the degree I want nor do I have a job that allows me to work and go to school at the same time. At this point I'm desperate. At 38 I know this will be big but I'm sick of living paycheck-to-paycheck and every year earning less versus the cost of living in my area (which is skyrocketing). In any event, I can't afford to live here unless my employer coughs-up a big raise but even then I don't see any career path. Our company stopped career pathing at the management change along with some other goodies :angry: .