Why so long between tracks in dvd-audio?

Discussion in 'Music' started by ElevSkyMovie, Aug 28, 2003.

  1. ElevSkyMovie

    ElevSkyMovie Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it my player, or my disc?

    I only have 1 disc but it takes about 3 seconds to go from the end of one track to starting the next one. If a track is suppose to play into the next one, it really sucks.

    Is my Toshiba SD4700 the problem? Does SACD do this as well?
     
  2. Phil A

    Phil A Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,171
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    If it happens on all discs it is likely the player. I think my friend had one as well and it cut off/muted the first few seconds of each track. I've heard of other minor problems with the unit. I bought my brother the 4800 and a couple of discs and it would not play the DVD-A side of a disc either.
     
  3. ElevSkyMovie

    ElevSkyMovie Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, it does cut off the beginning of a few tracks, but it does the same 2 every time, so I assumed it was bad disc mastering.

    I need to get more discs to try out, just need more $$$. If dvd-audio doesn't work like a cd, it won't last. There shouldn't be a pause between tracks and it shouldn't take 5 seconds to find the next track when you hit the next/forward button.
     
  4. Phil A

    Phil A Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,171
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    Kyle, would not blame the whole format for bad hardware design. Toshiba's are also noted for not playing the CD layer of hybrid SACDs. My friend who has the 4700 was annoyed as he tried it in a bunch of other things and it worked. There are bad designs in amps, receivers, cars, you name it.
     
  5. Tim Hoover

    Tim Hoover Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    I own both the Panny CP-72 and the Pioneer 563 and have not noticed a pause on either. In fact, the 563 seems to have the quickest track change I have ever seen...

    Which DVD-A disc(s) are you having this problem with?
     
  6. LanceJ

    LanceJ Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard for several years that Toshibas have certain problems with dvd-audio discs. Try a search here, at Audioreview.com--Digital Sources & Audioasylum (until two years ago, I used to write a lot at Audioreview but after a forum software upgrade, it took forever to load using my modem connection).

    My Pioneer DV-656A takes about three seconds between tracks (which IS sort of irritating), but haven't personally noticed it adding any dead space between two tracks joined together.

    LJ
     
  7. ElevSkyMovie

    ElevSkyMovie Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  8. Phil A

    Phil A Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,171
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    I think with the DVD medium, incl. DVD Video there tend to be more software and compatibility hardware issues due to the fact there are various ways to author discs. For example, I have a bunch of DADs (audio only DVDs) and when I got a bunch of them (from the same label) I played them in my car DVD player on a short trip I went on. One did not play. When I got home it played fine in the home player after being able to see that it had an initial menu that required an extra step. I've had various DVD machines and some DVDs would not play in a particular machine. For the most part, with CD, it is just put in and play (some CDs don't meet the original redbood stds. such as being a bit more than 74 minutes and some machines may have problems).
     

Share This Page