What's new

Where to buy DVDs??? (1 Viewer)

BobHaymond

Stunt Coordinator
I am BRAND new to HT; I have my speakers and my TV, reciever, and DVD are on the way. Cabinet man comes tomorrow to start wall construction. Several Questions: are there good and better places to buy DVD's ? Am I correct in surmising that Star Wars I, II, III are not on DVD? Are there ever different quality DVD's for the same movie?

Michael Reuben

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Michael Reuben
Welcome to HTF! I'm moving this to Home Theater Basics.
Some short answers: If by "Star Wars I, II, III" you mean the first 3 films (which are really numbered IV, V, VI), no they're not out on DVD. Yes, some films have been released on DVD in more than one version.
As for places to buy DVDs, I suggest you start by browsing the Retail and Wholesale Vendors Feedback forum. You can compare prices for online vendors at DVD Price Search.
M.

Ryan L B

Supporting Actor
how bad are those region 0 star wars trilogies that are going for aroun $60.00 on Ebay

Cees Alons

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Cees Alons
Probably very bad: they are copied from LD, VHS, or even worse. The DVD versions haven't been authored (made for DVD version) yet.

Except Starwars I (TPM), of course! But you don't have to buy that one on Ebay.

Cees

Kevin McCurdy

Stunt Coordinator
Bob

If you have a BJ's wholesale club in your area you may want to check there, Our local BJ's here are selling pallets of DVD's between $9.99 to $15.99 and then they have others that around the normal prices. Walmart also has some reasonably priced DVD's. I also watch the sales flyers in the Sunday paper for the new releases at Best Buy and Circuit city.

There's another section of the forum called Coupons and Bargains where another member lists a weekly roundup for the best prices of the week at area stores.