What's new

What receiver to buy??????????? (1 Viewer)

vanmol

Grip
Real Name
knarf lomnav
HI------I'm a newbie and don't have a clue regarding home theater.

I have a TV room about 10 by 13. A 2 year old 42 inch Panasonic Plasma TV with a WII game console. The wife is into music big time and we do like our TV. I have not subscribed to HD yet but would consider it if recommended. TV is not 3D ready.

At this point I have reduced the mind numbing manufacturer choices down to Murantz and Onkyo. If you have a better product I'm still open to suggestions.

What do you think about Murantz SR5004 and NR1501? OR Onkyo TX SR608 and TX SR707. The actual specs on these recievers are way over my head.

My main concern is putting together a system that works for my limited requirements and won't need upgrading in the near term.

Do I need more than 3 HDMI in or out?

Do I need USB?

Do I need Wireless Internet?

Thanks in advance for any help that you can provide. Frank

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
First off, 3 hdmi inputs might be enough for you now but who knows what else you might add in the future.

I don't need USB or wireless internet but you might some day.

Marantz and Onkyo are kind of like Oldsmobile and Chevy. The Olds was a nicer car but they were both about the same from 0 to 60.

The popular choice would be the Onkyo 608 or 707 as Onkyo is a good bang-for-the-buck receiver but since OneCall.com has the 5004 for $499 with free shipping (you can order it through Amazon if you'ld like) I might choose that one instead. Most members feel the performance difference between receiver brands isn't really noticable (speakers make a much bigger difference in sound quality) But sometimes I think there is. If there is any difference at all between the sound quality of major receiver brands then Marantz would have to be near the top in my opinion. But the 707 is a real fine and feature packed receiver for the price. Might be the best over-all in the bunch.