What's new

What are the best Grateful Dead cds? (1 Viewer)

John Randolph

Stunt Coordinator
I'm just getting into GD, and I was wondering what their best CD's are (excluding Greatest Hits/compilations)

KevinJ

Supporting Actor
the best ones to get are in the golden road boxed set...if you can afford it

Jeff Savage

Second Unit
Most of the Dick's Picks are awesome too. Do you like their live stuff or studio stuff best? Early or later years? If you know post here and we may able to give you some specific albums.

Laters,
Jeff

Carl Miller

Screenwriter
Absolutely agree with Kevin, if you want to take a big giant dive into the Dead. That set's a mighty big dive!

If not, check out Workingmans Dead and American Beauty to see if you like them. Probably the two most non-Deadhead friendly albums. Good way to see if you fall into the love them category or the hate them category.

If you like these consider Wake of the Flood, Blues for Allah and Terrapin Station though if you're going to buy Blues and Wake, I'd recommend taking a jump into live Dead and checking out One From the Vault instead. It's an absolutely outstanding live recording containing most of Blues for Allah.

The earlier stuff like Anthem of the Sun, and The Grateful Dead are well worth a listen, as is Aoxomoxoa and Mars Hotel.

If you like the live stuff, jump into the Dicks Picks series. Most of them are at least good, some of them are outstanding...especially those from the early 70's shows.

John Geelan

Screenwriter
Start with American Beauty and Workingman's Dead. Two very fine albums that are also available as DVDA's BTW.
If you have a HT with a DVD player, you can use these discs. They'll play as DD 5.1, not too shabby.

Carl Miller

Screenwriter
John, how's the audio quality on the Workingmans Dead DVD-A? I didn't even know those two were out in that format, but I think I'm going to have to take a ride to Tower!

Paul D Young

Second Unit