What's new

THX: Is it REALLY worth it?? (1 Viewer)

Scott McAllister

Stunt Coordinator
I'm not sure if this has been posted before, I did a search for THX and came up w/ about 80 pages of results. Plus, this is my first time posting in this forum.

I'm looking to upgrade my HT from it's current setup, and I'm considering the idea of having THX certification on as many components as I can. My question to all you gurus is this: is it really worth the *significant* extra cash to have THX certified equipment? The sub-question to that is if the former is true, then which components are the most important to have certified?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Scott

Scott Oliver

Screenwriter
No its not all that important, but you could also say it depends somewhat on the dollar level being spent.

For higher level stuff, it is just an added expense to pay for the certification. This type stuff already performs above THX standards anyhow.

But for lower cost stuff, THX can mean piece of mind because you know it performing to at least their pre-set THX level.

Overall THX is low on priority scale no matter what dollar level is being spent. Use your ears and buy what you like, and what offers the features you need.

David Judah

Screenwriter
IMO, it's not important with Dolby Digital and DTS soundtracks. At one time it might have been beneficial to have the RE-EQ circuit, but now DVD producers take the home environment into consideration when they are making DVDs.

If you listen to alot of things encoded in Dolby surround, then perhaps the surround decorrelation could come in handy, but not to the degree that you would upgrade just to have it.

Of course, if you buy into the "quality" aspect of THX certification then you might be able to justify the upgrade like you would by buying into any brand name, but again, IMO, it's not critical because there are many quality components that don't get certified.