What's new

theatre seating (1 Viewer)

Dan C

Agent
I am new to the whole home theater thing so I am going slow so I get things right. I have been reading the forum for almost a year now trying to see what everyone thinks about different aspects and today I looked at seats. I saw where some of you recommended 4seating.com so I called for prices. I spoke to Chuck and he is really nice to work with. Not only are the seats I decided to go with on sale but they put a free bass kicker in each one for free. I want to put a monogram on the seats and each seat is only 25.00 extra. I wanted storage in an arm rest and he said he would build it. Then I tried to push it by suggesting that he custom make a arm rest to fit a monitor and he said no problem. That brings me to the question I need to ask and that is what row and seat do you guys use the most. My configuration will be:

|three part love seat|seat|
|seat|love seat|seat|seat|
|seat|seat|love seat|seat|

|screen|

I think the second row is the place I will sit with my wife next to me. What do you guys think? Also what did you name your theater? I can't decide what to have embroidered on them. The only thing I have come up with is DCJ. That is our first initial and our last in the middle which would be bigger.

Brad E

Second Unit
That looks like a pretty good setup. But remember there is only 1 sweet spot.

In my house, I always get the sweet spot. Mostly because my wife is not a big of a sound buff as I am. I notice a difference even moving over one seat on the sofa.

So get an spl meter, pick out your 'spot' and then calibrate your system around that spot.

Brad E

Second Unit
Oh, I forgot to comment on the name of your theater.
When I get my dedicated HT room finished (currently in the process, but getting nowhere fast) I'm going put a big sign above the door that reads "Brad's Domain".
And underneath there will be a sign that reads "No screaming kids or nagging wives allowed. Invite only".