What's new

Sizing and distance opinions (1 Viewer)

Adil786

Auditioning
Real Name
Adil
Hi all,

Newbie here. I’m am looking to build a home theatre room in a room which is 347cm in length and 273 cm in width. Per the below pic. Looking to have potentially a motorized drop down or up screen on the window side and seating at the opposite end.

Given the dimensions, do people think there is enough distance between the seats and the screen if i was to go for 120” screen?

Attachments

• D19D5BE2-AAB4-4CB3-B7A6-4DD2354DF556.jpeg
    D19D5BE2-AAB4-4CB3-B7A6-4DD2354DF556.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 41

Wardog555

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Fraser
yes... i'm at 3 meters for 133 inch currently.
fyi. dont sit against any walls! 2/3 room distance!
what wall is the window on?

Adil786

Auditioning
Real Name
Adil
Why can i not sit against any walls? I’m hoping to have an L dhaped couch to the left of the door way as you walk in and a drop down screen infront of the window on the opposite side per the pic

ManW_TheUncool

His Own Fool
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
ManW
Why can i not sit against any walls? I’m hoping to have an L dhaped couch to the left of the door way as you walk in and a drop down screen infront of the window on the opposite side per the pic

Walls are generally bad for audio fidelity (due to the acoustics problems they present)... although they can be more beneficial than detrimental for lower bass performance -- that's why you generally only want the subwoofer(s) to be up against walls, etc, not any other regular speakers.

IF you must sit close to a wall (or place good speakers close to them), you should definitely consider adding/using acoustic treatments to reduce those issues (on top of whatever audio processing calibration offered by your AVR/prepro)...

_Man_

ManW_TheUncool

His Own Fool
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
ManW