What's new

Sub Placement Wrong? (1 Viewer)

Savage357

Auditioning
Real Name
Cory R
Can someone tell me if my sub placement is wrong here? I'm no expert, which is why I was hoping to get some advice on whether I should change the placement here.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• 20200428_134533.jpg
    20200428_134533.jpg
    695.9 KB · Views: 165

Mark-P

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Mark Probst
Low frequencies are non-directional. Sub-woofers can be placed anywhere in the room with identical results just so long and nothing is blocking them.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Best placement requires measurements to know for sure, but subs generally get better extension and output placed in or near a corner, along with some parametric EQ to smooth out any peaks. But that seems to be out of the question in your room, so I wouldn’t worry about it.

I’d be more concerned about the surround speakers, which appear to be in front of the seats…

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Dave Upton

Audiophile
Reviewer
Real Name
Dave Upton
It's almost impossible to say from a picture. Do you have a microphone to take measurements? If not, a MiniDSP UMIK-1 and RoomEQWizard will go a long way.

Wayne_j

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Agreed that I'm more worried about the surround speaker placement. They should probably be right between the two rows of seats.

Savage357

Auditioning
Real Name
Cory R
I did do the calibration with the microphone supplied with my Denon AVR-X4500H.

I also suspected I have placed the surround speakers a bit too far forward and will do as y'all suggested and move them back a bit behind the first row seating.

If I move the sub back against the wall where the screen is, should I place it in the corner, moving the Left tower towards the center channel speaker or put the sub between the tower and center?

Dave Upton

Audiophile
Reviewer
Real Name
Dave Upton