What's new
World Wide Stereo

Speaker Question (1 Viewer)

David.Sloan

Auditioning
hi,

I'm a relative newbie so I hope you'll bar with my lack of technical knowledge.

At the moment I have a Pro-logic hi-fi system which is fairly similar to this one here.

I'd like to get a reciever to upgrade to 5.1 and DTS. I have my eye on a Yamaha system I have seen, with a power rating of 110wpc. (on the specs it lists my current system as having "Total power output 120 watt RMS."

My question is this: can I keep my current speakers and simply buy the reciever, or are the speakers too low-powered and might blow up or something? Are the speakers the limiting factor or is it the system itself?

Thanks in advance,

- Dave.

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Brett DiMichele

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Brett
David,

The speakers used in those boombox,shelf systems are
generaly very low quality (with exception to some offerings
by Denon (with Mission speakers) or Onkyo.

Yes I would highly suggest replacing the speakers for
numerous reasons. The speakers with your current setup are
most likely VERY high Impedance (12 or more ohms) because
the amplifier inside the boombox is low quality and can not
drive a low Impedance (8,6 or 4 Ohm).

A good Reciever like the Yamaha can generaly drive 8 or 6
Ohm loads, with some Recievers even being able to drive 4
Ohm loads.

What is your budget? Really before you buy anything you need
to determine what you are willing to spend and then demo
equipment (speakers and a reciever) in that price range.

There are many GOOD options for speaker packages and there
are even HTiB (Home Theater in a Box) solutions that may
fit your needs precisely.

Let us know a budget and then we can at least give you some
ideas on what equipment to go out and demo.

Ohh and welcome to the forums! :emoji_thumbsup:

David.Sloan

Auditioning
Hi,

Thanks for the response.