sony projector hook up

Discussion in 'Displays' started by rob virgo, Nov 13, 2004.

  1. rob virgo

    rob virgo Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    please help me with my first project,i am from Ireland and ht is not that big over here yet.
    i have installed this machine (vph 1271qm) and am wondering whats the best way to connect it.s video or rgb.have a componet out on pioneer dvd but it wont take it.the rgb inputs have extra letters to and when i connect them i only get one colour.

    where are the experts

    rob

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Jim Mcc

    Jim Mcc Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,757
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oconomowoc, WI.
    Real Name:
    Jim
    You should try Avforums.com, it's based in the UK. Your DVD players must have different connections.
     
  3. SimiA

    SimiA Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does either the projector or the DVD player have a manual selection for "RGB/YUV" or "RGB/YPbPr"? If not you need a component video input RGB output transcoder (you can think of that as a breakout cable with a box in the middle).

    Either the DVD player must be set to RGB or the projector must be set to Y-Pb-Pr component video in order for a plain cable to work.

    Video hints:
    http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/compon.htm
     
  5. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    rob: as noted, you can't use component input into this machine. You can use s-video/composite temporarily, but you really should be feeding it HD-type resolutions via RGB inputs. Note that RGB is *not* the same as component video. To use component video, you'd need a transcoder, but even then I strongly recommend you use a source appropriate for this projector, that outputs upscaled video, such as via a video processor or an HTPC.
     
  6. rob virgo

    rob virgo Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the great replys guys,im into cars not ht so feelin my way.

    chris ,
    but even then I strongly recommend you use a source appropriate for this projector, that outputs upscaled video, such as via a video processor or an HTPC.
    are these the multiplyers i have heard about.any names i could do a serch on.

    cheers from Ireland

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     

Share This Page