SLINGBOX

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Ronald Epstein, May 9, 2006.

  1. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,183
    Likes Received:
    5,978
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    I was just on a cruise for the past week. I brought my
    laptop along and patched into the ship's available WiFi
    connection.

    I met a couple that also brought their laptop along on
    their vacation, but for entirely different reasons....

    ....they wanted to watch their cat at home.

    They told me about a device called Slingbox which
    allowed them to plug in their videocamera at home and view
    the feed from any Internet connection thousands of miles away.

    When I got home I looked closer at this product and was
    intrigued to find that it did soooo much more than what this
    couple was letting on.

    I could actually watch and control my Tivo programs or any
    other media hookup to my home system while away with my
    laptop as long as I had an Internet connection.

    This thing looks absolutely cool and I am very close to
    purchasing.

    One question to anyone that owns this device...

    It looks as if you need to have your slingbox device near
    your router in order to hook it up via ethernet cable.

    This is not the case with me. My wireless router is
    in another room.

    What do I need to hook up to the slingbox ethernet
    plug to transmit the signal to my wireless Belkin router
    in the adjoining room?
     
  2. Kimmo Jaskari

    Kimmo Jaskari Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you want to connect any device with an ethernet port on it wirelessly, you need a wireless bridge.

    One example of that would be a Linksys WET54G. There are other similar devices but with several ethernet ports on them so you can connect multiple devices.
     
  3. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,183
    Likes Received:
    5,978
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    I also take it I can run a 50' ethernet cable to the next room?

    Will this work just as well and inexpensively?
     
  4. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes and you'll have less problems with regard to signal strengh and security settings.
     
  5. Jeffrey Johnson

    Jeffrey Johnson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ron - kinda off topic, but which cruise line was it and did they charge extra for the wifi?
     
  6. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,183
    Likes Received:
    5,978
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Jeffrey,

    On Princess they charge $10.50 per 30 minutes for WiFi

    On certain Royal Caribbean ships there is dial-up in the rooms
    for about $100-$120 unlimited for entire week.

    There may be WiFi in the rooms on some RC ships too, but not
    on the two Voyaget class ships (Voyager & Explorers seas) that
    I sailed.
     
  7. Ken Chan

    Ken Chan Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 1999
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Slingbox connected to a switch, which is connected to the router by 50' of Ethernet cable. Works fine. Great gizmo.

    I was telling a friend recently that I had to upgrade the switch because I had "run out of Ethernet ports near my TV" which really sounds absurd.
     
  8. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,220
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Ok. I have an HTPC downstairs in my living room that I would like to watch what it has recorded on my TV upstairs. If I get one of these would I put the Slingbox upstairs, plug the ethernet port of the Slingbox into my wireless bridge and then the video outputs into my TV? Would I load the software on my HTPC or is that even necessary? Would I then be able to control my HTPC from my TV upstairs?

    Thanks,
    Parker
     
  9. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Founder
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    49,183
    Likes Received:
    5,978
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Parker,

    I bought one of these though I rarely use it.

    The software gets installed on a computer or HTPC.

    Therefor, in order to watch what is on another TV, you need
    to be able to install software on the device you want to watch
    the programming on.
     
  10. Keith Plucker

    Keith Plucker Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 1999
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Real Name:
    Keith Plucker
  11. Parker Clack

    Parker Clack Schizophrenic Man
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    12,220
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    Real Name:
    Parker
    Keith:

    I don't have Tivo and DVD Everywhere requires it.
     

Share This Page