Sat Receiver Digital Audio Out?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by LennyS, Jan 16, 2003.

  1. LennyS

    LennyS Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is my first post so please be gentle. I currently have a basic Hughes receiver for my DirecTV with the standard s-video out and RCA out for audio. I'd like to upgrade to one with a digital optical out to take advantage of the movies that are broadcast in Dolby Digital. My question is this. If I use the optical out on the Hughes receiver, what happens when I tune to a channel that's not broadcast in DD. Do I need to run an RCA in addition to the optical? Or will I receive audio through the optical, just not in a digital format? The model I'm looking at is this one:

    Executive Director Receiver Hughes
    Manuf. Model: GCEBO-Rec

    Thanks for any help and please forgive me if I've confused anyone.

    -Lenny
     
  2. jeff.wright

    jeff.wright Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just like a DVD player, a digital audio cable can output as whatever mode is provided or selected. There is no need for a double audio connection.
     
  3. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,310
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    If you can spare a few more dollars, look at the Hughes HDVR2 (aka DirecTivo). It has an optical out for DD but even better, it can record DD for playback later.

    -Robert
     
  4. LennyS

    LennyS Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you both for the responses. I will definitely check out that receiver.

    -Lenny
     
  5. JayDaniel

    JayDaniel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On my Scientific Atlanta set top box for Digital cable (not Satellite), I must have BOTH the digital coax and RCA composite audio connections made. This is per SA's instructions. I tried it w/o the RCA jacks first and NO sound (then I read the instructions). Apparently on their system, the analog broadcasts default to the RCA composite connection. I leave my receiver's input on "auto select", and it switches to digital when a digital broadcast is available.
     
  6. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,310
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    I forgot to answer the second question. The digital audio connection delivers all sound. DD, stereo, mono. That's the only audio connection required.

    -Robert
     

Share This Page