What's new

Rotel RSX-1056 and REL Strata 3 - help? (1 Viewer)

Matte Black

Auditioning
Real Name
Matte Black
Hi everyone - Yup, I'm a newbie looking for some words of wisdom. I've been into hi-fi for many years, only recently got into multichannel, so if anyone can shed some light on this I'd be most grateful.

For starters, here's what I'm running :
Rotel RSX-1056 amp
Castle Severn floorstanders on the front
Castle Keep centre
Vintage Castle Richmond bookshelfs on the rear

And I've just picked up a REL Strata 3 subwoofer, mainly for movies but also as a boost to the whole system. So, I've hooked it up with a stereo RCA cable to both the sub pre-outs on the amp, told the amp that there's a sub attached, set all the other speakers as "small" - and nothing happens. The sub seems not to be getting much of a signal at all from the sub preamp outputs, whether in music or movies, DTS or Dolby Digital. If I hook it up to the "front" pre-outs and send a full-range signal at it, it's quite happy to rattle the windows and have the neighbours banging on the walls - but that sort of defeats the object of all the bass redirection that's supposed to be going on, and I don't have the benefits of a separate LFE channel.

I've tried setting crossover points, connecting to one or the other or both of the sub outputs, every combination of "large" and "small" speakers, and the amp just seems not to be sending anything to the subwoofer. I'm reluctant to believe that the subwoofer outputs could be blown, so there must be something I'm not doing. I've gone through the manuals, searched the internet, done just about everything short of resetting the amp to factory settings. I'm not happy about machines getting the better of me - does anyone have any clue why I'm not getting results?

Thanks in advance!

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hi Matte! Welcome to HTF! :)

I'm going to move your post to the receiver forum as Rotel is a bit advanced for the Basics area.