What's new

Rotel 1095, Sherbourn 5/5210 or B&K 7250 (1 Viewer)

BrianKR

Second Unit
I decided I am going to go for an amp instead of a new receiver and use my current receiver as a pre pro. Which of the 3 amps above do you feel would work best with B&W Nautilus speakers?

other suggestions?

I got the bug now! :)

Andrew Pratt

Senior HTF Member
I love the Rotel's looks and its a powerful warm sounding amp as well. I'm sure any of those would be a substantial upgrade so its unlikely you'd be unhappy with any of them but I've come to find that there's very few companies that take care of their customers like Rotel does.

Yogi

Screenwriter
My vote goes to B&K simply because I love warm laid back sound and out of the three no one does it better then B&K. B&W speakers are fairly neutral and so if you like warm sound go with B&K. OTOH if you like neutral to slightly warm sound Rotel would be your best bet. I have no experience with Sherbourn so cant comment there. I think you would be happy with either amp as they all are well built with a great sound to them. If you have no particular preference in sound then go by price/looks etc.

Dan Driscoll

Supporting Actor
I'm not familair with the B&K, but the Rotel and Sherbourn are both excellent amps, so it depends on your personal preferance. I perferred the Sherbourn (5/1500A) over the RMB-1095, but I have Paradigm speakers, which have a very different sound than B&W.

Sihan Goi

Second Unit
Rotel, but I'm biased, since I own the RMB-1095, and its sweet :)

The fact that B&W used to pair up their speakers with Rotel says something about their "synergy" too :)

Andrew Pratt

Senior HTF Member
Brian it should be noted that B&W and Rotel have a working relationship where both companies use the other's to evaluated their products which means your B&W speakers were designed with the Rotel amps in mind

Stephen M

Stunt Coordinator