What's new

Please suggest me a Receiver (1 Viewer)

farid717

Auditioning
Real Name
who cares
Hi Experts, I am a newbie and need your help. My living room is 16' X 15'. I like these speakers. KEF T305 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/KEFT305BLK/KEF-T305-5.1-Channel-Home-Theater-Speaker-System/1.html They cost 1600.00 in a4l. I like flat speakers because they look nice on wall next to my flat tv. Now please somebody suggest me a good receiver that will go with the speakers and will have enough power to drive the speakers. My budget is around 500. I was searching so many and got baffled. So far I looked ONKYO TX-NR616 7.2-Channel, Pioneer Elite VSX-60 7.2-Channel, Sony STR-DN1030, Pioneer SC-1222-K 7.2-Channel and do not know the differences. I liked the Sony's built in wi-fi though. Question: Since the speakers are 5.1 is it a waste (or too much) to buy 7.2 receiver? Please suggest me a best one within my price range. Thanks in advance

Real Name
Jason Higgins
When you say you like those KEF speakers, did you hear them? Or do you mean you like them for their looks? With the receivers, I would go for the Pioneer SC-1222-K 7.2. (But isn't this one out of your price range?). It has lots of power and will drive the speakers better then the other 3. I'm not sure how the Sony can claim 145w a channel on a receiver that weighs only 24 lbs. The Onkyo is too cheap. You really do get what you pay for with the pricing of the receivers you've listed.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Almost nobody has heard the KEF T series prior to buying them. They get good reviews though. As for AVR... What are you connecting to the AVR.? Wii? DVD? PS3? Computer? And since when is "Onkyo too cheap"??? I'm sure everybody on this forum would like to know why "Onkyo is too cheap"....that owns one.

farid717

Auditioning
Real Name
who cares