Pics of finished EBS shiva

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by darren_s, Dec 30, 2003.

  1. darren_s

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is my first DIY sub it was alot of work but I am very Impressed with this design I am still waiting on 4" flared port so I am running it sealed and it sounds great, I will take some more pics with amp and bottom, I thought I would post these because I could not find any pics of Shiva EBS when I was building this. Thanks to all who helped me out along the way. DIY SHIVA
     
  2. Mattak

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks great, what did you finish it with?
     
  3. Bob K

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Darren,

    Congrats! What sort of system are you using it in?

    Bob
     
  4. Wayne Ernst

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Darren,

    It looks great! Actually, I find that it looks like an SVS PB1-ISD/PB2-ISD "clone" on the outside. Very nice work.

    Nothing like the smell of MDF in the morning. [​IMG]

    Enjoy !!
     
  5. Wayne Ernst

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Matt, you might want to check out this thread for more details:

    Spray-on Liner
     
  6. Kyle Richardson

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1998
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very nice looking sub Darren.
     
  7. darren_s

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, It did come out very nice, I used the bed liner spray linked in Wayne Ernst post, thanks to Kyle R @ Acoustic Visions

    for the great driver and great service.
     
  8. Dave Poehlman

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2000
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I gotta get me some of that spray-on liner. Looks great!
     
  9. darren_s

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This sub is Amazing I ran it for a few hours at normal volume last night then i got on it today and all the windows in my house where rattling, and I have the port sealed because I am waiting on ups for 4" flared port, I am guessing from what I have read that adding port it will play deeper and louder??
     
  10. Mattak

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think so. I shook some books off a shelf with my tempest today [​IMG]
     
  11. darren_s

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got my 4" port today, guess what My amp is in the way I have to move amp to the left 4 inches [​IMG] or I can fur amp out 1 inch what do you guys think my best bet is??
     
  12. Kyle Richardson

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 1998
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It would probably be easier if you made a 1" trim ring to mount the amp to in order to fur it away from the back of the enclosure.
     
  13. darren_s

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, yes that was easier I brought it out 1.5 intalled port with plenty of clearance, another problem is the 6.75 they tell you to cut for port hole is to big for the flange PE sells 6.25 would of worked better.
     
  14. Mattak

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For the tempest plans it does call for a 6.25" hole for the 4" flared ports. But I wouldn't be surprised if there was a typo, as there is one in the tempest plans where it says 3" flared ports in the description and 4" on the technical drawing for the SBB4 box - one of the reasons that I needed to modify my box volume.
     

Share This Page