What's new

Physics Challenge #134 (1 Viewer)

Bill Catherall

Screenwriter
So I'm studying for the Physics GRE and I came upon a question in the sample test that reads:
A lump of clay whose rest mass is 4 kilograms is traveling at three-fifths the speed of light when it collides head-on with an identical lump going the opposite direction at the same speed. If the two lumps stick together and no energy is radiated away, what is the mass of the composite lump?
(A) 4 kg
(B) 6.4 kg
(C) 8 kg
(D) 10 kg
(E) 13.3 kg
Naturally I'd think the answer was (C), but the answer key gives (D) as the correct answer. Why? Obviously it has something to do with relativity. What's interesting is that the speed of the second lump relative to the first lump is NOT 6/5c because it's impossible to exceed c. Right? But what I don't understand is how it affects mass. It looks like we would some how be converting energy to mass in this collision, since we can't create mass. So how do you calculate how much energy is converted to mass, and how much mass we get out of it?

Will Pomeroy

Stunt Coordinator
I'm trying to remember exactly how, but i know its the theory of relativity, E=mc^2 (didn't think anyone ever used that ever, did ya?), but i'm not sure how it works, i'm trying to remember two years ago, to grade 12 physics, but when you have two obects moving at different speed, it gets more complicated... when you have an object with a mass, say 1kg, then you know that E=mc^2, so you know that you have 1x(2.99e+8)^2)J of energy, so mass is dirrectly related to energy, and then converty the two energies back into mass, or something like that!

Good luck!

Holadem

Senior HTF Member
The kinetic energy of each lump before the colision:
K = (1/2)mV^2
v = (3/5)C ==> K = (18/25)C^2
K total = 2 x K
K total = (36/25)C^2
K total is not radiated so it's gotta go somewhere ==> mass.