What's new
World Wide Stereo

new to ht (1 Viewer)

mckinley_phipps

Auditioning
im lookin to buy my 1st home theater system, im moving into an apt. so i think id have to settle for a htib. id like to keep it under 600 but if there was a nice complete system id go up to 1000. its important that the system include a dvd player. like i said im new to ht and im not sure if i sure go with a 5.1 or 6.1 system. ive looked at a couple manufacturers sites and saw a few that caught my eye. the yamaha yht-940, kenwood htb (756,805, or 896)dv, and the onkyo ht s767c. for some reason i cant find any reviews or even sites that sell these systems. if u have any input on any of these systems or want to offer some suggestions on which way i should go , your input would be greatly appreciated, ty for your time.

Vincent_S

Second Unit
As a former Onkyo owner, I think you would be happy with the Onkyo. Later on if you wanted to upgrade your speakers you still have a decent receiver to power them.

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
The Kenwood HTB systems have a good reputation. They usually have all the essential parts as separate units so you can slowly upgrade pieces later. Avoid the others that are all-in-one's which force you to swap out everything.

Since the HTB's tend to change quickly, most magazines dont bother reviewing them. "Stereophile Guide to Home Theater" did a review on the now-discontinued HTB-503 a few years ago. It held it's own against their 'reference' budget system where the speakers alone cost $1100. Not bad for a $600 HTB.

Lew Crippen

Senior HTF Member
I’d consider the Acoustic Research HC6, 5.1 speaker system. This can be found for $350–$400. You can easily find a decent progressive scan DVD player for $250–$300 and a nice receiver that will drive the HC6 system for another $250–$300 (Denon 1803 for example). If you don’t pay the top price for all of the above, you will have $50–$150 left for cables, etc.

This will be far superior to any HtiB deals.