What's new

New media room (1 Viewer)

Shooter235

Auditioning
Real Name
DC
The family and I are relocating. The new home has a 2nd family room that we have decided to make our "hangout room". Actually the wife wants a formal living room and I want a cool entertainment setup = win/win!!!
The room is 18'Lx14.5'Dx10'H. Viewing distance will be 10'-12'. It has an open entryway at what will be the right rear corner, and has two large windows. I will probably have to live with the open entry, roughly the size of a tall door, but can take measures to cover the windows.
I am a total newb at all of this. I am looking for advice. I am not looking to build a theater, just want to end up with a fairly awesome room to watch movies, play video games, and listen to music. This room will be the main hangout spot for the family. What equipment would make a reasonably nice setup in a room such as this? I'd love to go with something 7.2, just from hearing a system a few times. I am starting from scratch, need everything for the eyes and ears. All I plan on using from my current inventory is the Wii and Xbox.
Should I go with THX certified equipment? I understand the cert does not mean much to most people in the know, but I am not in the know, and was wondering if the cert would at least keep me from mismatching components.
Should I just call in a local pro av shop and let them have at it?
I have a budget of +/- $10K, depending on how much the seating sets me back.
Any and all advice is appreciated.

NickSI

Stunt Coordinator
Ok, first welcome to HTF :)
In order for us to help you better lets gather some more information.
Starting with you and your experiances: How technically savy are you?
Can you set the clock on the VCR/Microwave?
Have you ever wired up a surround sound system before?
Can you replace a wall outlet?
are you a certified electrician?
(pick one)
Second; the setup you want.