What's new
World Wide Stereo

Need Help Choosing Front Projector.....Please? (1 Viewer)

SurfHB

Grip
Hi...I am totally new to this type of front projection TV. I currently have a Sony 57 inch rear projection TV that is one year old. I have it in my bedroom so it works great. However, I have another room that I think I may want to convert to a dedicated Home Theater. Here is the info:
The room is 12 ft wide and 20 ft deep. The ceiling is 7 1/2 feet tall.

I would like to have a screen that at least 120 inches. I would like the projector to be HDTV compatible and be able to hook a game console to it. I would like the colors to be bright and crisp. I do understand that you get what you pay for. I would consider spending up to $2,500 to $2,900 or so. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Darrel McBane

Second Unit
Your room is about the same size as mine. I went with the Sony HS-20 and am using a 106" Draper screen. The Sony can hook up anything from composite, S-Video, Component, DVI and HDMI. HD looks fantastic with it. The salesman who sold me mine is using one with a 133" screen. The Sony is a LCD projector. And in it's price range it's hard to beat for performance. I'm very happy with it. I got the projector, screen and ceiling mount for just under $3000.

Here's a link for a review from ProjectorCentral

http://www.projectorcentral.com/sony_hs20.htm

Massimo N

Stunt Coordinator
There are currently 3 LCD projectors that are the "HOT" picks right now in your price range.

Panasonic AE500
Sanyo Z2
Sony HS20

If you are willing to spend a little more on the projector I'd recommend taking a look at the BENQ8710 (DLP).

All these projectors have your standard inputs
Composite
S-VID
Component
VGA
DVI