What's new

My vision please help (1 Viewer)

peter.alamanos

Auditioning
Firstly I would like to extend a warm hello to everyone.
This is my first post and I hope everyone will bear with me as I ask my questions seeking advice/guidance.

I just recently got into the hometheater idea and so I'm a newb in many ways. Like most people even if they don't own up to it I have a vision on how I would like my hometheater to sound and look.

Here goes I recently upgraded my three front speakers form Paradigm Monitor 7's to Paradigm Studio 60 ver3. The old speakers are now serving as my new surrounds. My current receiver is the Onkyo DS575 and while it served my purposes faithfully it is now time for a change. I plan to go separates and so I've only auditioned what Anthem has to offer. I still need to hear the offerings from Rotel and B&K.

The kicker is I'm not made out of money and so my dream system has to be done in steps. I would like to find a receiver that will mate at first with my speakers in both hometheater and music listening. It must have pre-outs and a RS 232 port as I then plan to turn it into a pre-amp. Now
here is where I can be flexible is there any such beast(receiver) that will do the job as well as a pre-amp I am open to all ways in saving money. If not I would have to live with this config until a proper pre-amp is bought.

I'm not to sure what separates cost where you guys are but here in Toronto,Canada the Anthem setup runs between $6500-$6800.CD so you see why I need to do this in steps. :frowning:

Lastly please be genlte and don't dash my dream into the rocks.:)

Many Thanks

Peter

DanaA

Screenwriter
I don't know your Onkyo, but, if it has preouts, and sufficient processing capability, you might consider starting with a power amp, given you are on the road to separates. That way, you won't have to buy a power amp at the time of purchasing a pre-pro.

peter.alamanos

Auditioning
Dana,