my old prologic receiver

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by phat dinh, Jun 12, 2002.

  1. phat dinh

    phat dinh Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have an old yamaha prologic receiver...i want to decode the new dts, thx...etc...the stuff out there now...do i have to buy a new receiver with all the decode hardware or can i upgrade some how with my existing receiver...

    i don't want to keep buying new receivers every couple years to keep with the new sounds...

    thanks
     
  2. David Ison

    David Ison Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    YEAh you are going to have to buy a new receiver or separates, as far as THX goes you will have to spend alot of money, this is a standard not a form of encoding. personally i would look for a receiver with.
    dts,dd, plII,dts neo 6, and plenty of pre-outs. as well as plenty of digital inputs.good luck and happy hunting.
     
  3. Craig Woodhall

    Craig Woodhall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 1999
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Phat,

    yip, you have to buy a new receiver..
    Just to correct the above post, THX is a standard, but on pre-amps/receivers THX also involves post-processing.. On my Lexicon, i can watch movies in DTS or also in DTS-THX, etc..

    Craig
     

Share This Page