1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

my old prologic receiver

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by phat dinh, Jun 12, 2002.

  1. phat dinh

    phat dinh Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have an old yamaha prologic receiver...i want to decode the new dts, thx...etc...the stuff out there now...do i have to buy a new receiver with all the decode hardware or can i upgrade some how with my existing receiver...

    i don't want to keep buying new receivers every couple years to keep with the new sounds...

    thanks
     
  2. David Ison

    David Ison Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    YEAh you are going to have to buy a new receiver or separates, as far as THX goes you will have to spend alot of money, this is a standard not a form of encoding. personally i would look for a receiver with.
    dts,dd, plII,dts neo 6, and plenty of pre-outs. as well as plenty of digital inputs.good luck and happy hunting.
     
  3. Craig Woodhall

    Craig Woodhall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 1999
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Phat,

    yip, you have to buy a new receiver..
    Just to correct the above post, THX is a standard, but on pre-amps/receivers THX also involves post-processing.. On my Lexicon, i can watch movies in DTS or also in DTS-THX, etc..

    Craig
     

Share This Page