What's new

Monster or Acoustic Research S-Video cable (1 Viewer)

Mark Bates

Agent
I have narrowed my choices down due to budget and cable length to Monster Cable Video 3 6 meter S-Video for $50.00 or Acoustic Research Pro S-Video 25 feet for $26.00.

I am very happy with the AR pro audio cables, but I have no experience with their S-Video cables.

Monster states "True 75Ohm cable even when bent"

AR has no such claim, but does say "double shielded"

Is the Monster worth the extra $24.00?

I looked at some custom cable makers, but found most to be out of my price range. I really only need about 16 feet.

Thanks,

Mark

Mike Pgh

Auditioning
In that price range I don't think it's really going to matter much which cable you go with. I have the AR Pro Component cables and chose them over Monster based on price. Personally, I would go with the AR S-video cable.

Howard_S

Supporting Actor
I think someone posted before about their switch from AR pro to master series and was very happy with the difference. You can't go wrong with any of them. The concensus is that Monster cables are good quality but not great value. I have bought AR cables in the past but have since switched to Ultralinks. Why don't you buy from a store with a good return policy and try them both. If your place does not have much interference the AR should be more than fine.

Razvan V

Stunt Coordinator
I have the AR s-video Pro Series cable and I'm very satisfied with it, the image quality is amazing. I haven't tried the Monster cable though.

Razvan

Bryan Acevedo

Second Unit
I have the AR Pro Series cables, for both audio and video. The S-Video cables are very high quality. They are as thick as the Monster Sub cables - very, very thick. They are shielded really well. I heard from several places that the AR Pro cables are actually made at the same place that the Monster cables are, so there really shouldn't be a huge difference. I don't know how true that is, but they look alike.