Marantz SR Series - Can you Rename an Input Source?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Doug_L, Mar 26, 2002.

  1. Doug_L

    Doug_L Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2000
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Marantz SR-19, and I'd like to rename the DSS/VCR2 input source to read "Tivo" on the receiver's display, not the remote (I use a Pronto). I re-read the manual but found nothing about it, and in playing with the on-screen display for about 10 minutes, never found myself in an appropriate menu.

    Does anybody know if this is possible, and if so, how to do it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. DanielSmi

    DanielSmi Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    i don't know about the marantz reciever but i know the pioneer elite vsx-49tx can do that but that's the first reciever i've heard of that can do that function.
     
  3. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    In the vein of information that has little to do with the question, my 7+yr old STR-DE815 (sold) was able to rename any source, so Pioneer is certainly not the first.

    As for Marantz, I have a 6200, and I have not found a way to do what you are asking Doug.

    *edit - I have a friend who has an SR-19, I'll ask him, but I have a feeling it won't yeild much.
     
  4. Doug_L

    Doug_L Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2000
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    {Sigh} that's about what I thought. Not too hopeful, but if anybody knows anything I'd appreciate hearing it.
     
  5. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    What current brands do allow this? I would assume Yamaha and Denon's higher grade receivers do??
     

Share This Page