What's new

I'm in dire need of help! (1 Viewer)

Evd.

Auditioning
Real Name
Baruch
I'm a huge noob to this whole Home Theatre thing so when I bought my first speakers, one of those HTIB deals, I think a payed for crap that doesn't even meet my needs. Thing is, I can't return it now. Please help me figure out my options.

What I want to do is hook up two DVD players, a VCR, an Xbox 360, and an HD Cable box to a television all at once and have the sound from each of these devices make use of the 5.1 setup. I assume I need a receiver, correct? Well, the HTIB I bought doesn't come with one.

My HTIB: Prima 1-Disc Ultra Slim Tower Home Theatre System

As you can see, it comes with 5.1 speakers and a DVD player. The speakers connect to the DVD player and subwoofer.

I'll post pictures to give you a better idea with what I'm dealing with.

Subwoofer:

The "speaker output" wires go straight in to the speakers themselves. The "audio input" wires on the top there go in to the DVD player.

DVD player:

Those "audio input" wires from the subwoofer go directly in to the "audio out" over in the left there.

My question:

Can I get rid of that DVD player, buy a receiver, and connect the speaker to that receiver?

JoseLH

Agent
yes you can use those speakers on another receier. You will need a different powered sub though. That one seems to be speaker level. HTIB are ok for people that ONLY watch DVD's on the screens. If you have anything else like the 360, iPods, CD players etc., you have no where to hook them up to. You need a stand alone AV receiver that will accomodate your gear.

Evd.

Auditioning
Real Name
Baruch
Thanks.

Would this be an appropriate receiver (Yamaha HTR5920S):

I can see a place for my DVD player, cable, television, and the VCR. I need one place for a second [region free] DVD player. What's V-AUX? I also don't understand the speakers section, what kind of wires plug in there?

Sorry for being so difficuly, I'm really this dumb.
htf_images_smilies_blush.gif