HTPC with Component Outputs

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Darren Hunt, Apr 28, 2003.

  1. Darren Hunt

    Darren Hunt Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am beginning to put together a list of components for building a Home Theater PC and I have run into a snag with the video card. For the time being, before I can afford a half decent projector, I will have to live with my old Toshiba 56" Widescreen (not HDTV). This TV has component inputs, but not the same as the HDTV type. Does anyone know what the exact name of these component inputs are?

    Now on to the bigger question, is there any video cards around that output a component signal that my TV can accept? I plan on changing the video card later on when the TV dies, but in the mean time, am I gonna have to live with S-Video seeing as I can't find a video card that would work with my TV?

    Thanks,

    Darren
     
  2. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    The inputs are also called component.

    Just get a good card now and a transcoder box that will convert VGA to component. Set the PC to 480i output (or 480p if your TV will sync)-- and be ready for the TV upgrade.

    -V
     
  3. Darren Hunt

    Darren Hunt Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info. Is it safe to say that essentially I am looking for any card that can output a component signal (HDTV) but use 480i as the output signal? I see that ATI has a bunch of All In Wonders that have the component output through their HDTV Video Component Adapter. Is this the recommended way or are there better solutions for the video transcoder box?
     
  4. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the ATI solution is what I would consider "consumer"-- just like their Svideo output- it's an afterthought. Just passing a proper sync rate from RGBHV connection (the standard DB-15 VGA connector), into a good quality transcoder is, IMHO, the way to go.

    I don't know if the component output on ATI stuff would even pass standard defintiion video for your current config.

    -Vince
     
  5. Darren Hunt

    Darren Hunt Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2001
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you recommend some good quality transcoders? I never thought of just using the regular VGA output like you mentioned. Good idea, of course unless the transcoders cost a fortune.

    Darren
     
  6. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Key Digital seems to be a popular brand for this type of conversion- but assume they're not cheap ($200+).

    There is a page on the Digital theater store FAQ that addresses all this stuff:



    http://www.digitalconnection.com/FAQ/HDTV_4.htm

    See also:

    http://www.keohi.com/keohihdtv/inter...ranscoder.html

    http://shop.store.yahoo.com/homethea...eydigital.html

    http://www.digitalconnection.com/Hom...er/kdvtca2.htm

    http://www.digitalconnection.com/pro...video/9a62.asp

    You could also try building you own:
    http://www.keohi.com/keohihdtv/inter...ranscoder.html

    Although it says it will only work with HD sets, I think anything with a component input will be fine, as long as your video card supports interlaced resolutions.

    -Vince
     

Share This Page