What's new
Signup for GameFly to rent the newest 4k UHD movies!

HTPC novice (1 Viewer)

JaredSpencer

Auditioning
I am getting ready to start gradschool, and I am looking at purchasing a nice PC. What I want is a functional PC (not something completely geared to Home Theater, but also to Word Processing, scholastic studies, and web-surfing, etc.), but I want to use a HDTV monitor (probably a 30" picture tube model with S-video and composite video jacks). The projection stuff is not for me. What would you guys suggest that I look for, and is it really possible to use a TV like that as a monitor and have all the functionality of a computer. Having a tv-tuner in the comp is a plus but not essential, as well as TiVo like capability.

Again, I am a novice at this type stuff... Gateway has something linke what I am looking for, but I don't really trust them to give me what I need necessarily.

Thanks for any help

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Joe Pak

Auditioning
Jared.

You might want to investigate the Sleekline 2600 AV home theater pc. The forum will not let me post the url, but here is the important part.

sleekline.com

Does anyone know anything about these? I did a search on this forum but came up empty.

joe

Joe Szott

Screenwriter
Real Name
Joe S.
It can be done, but it might just be easier to go the other way: get a PC with a nice big CRT/LCD and make it into a TV. All you would need to do is either slap in a TV tuner card or get an ATI Radeon All In Wonder card and watch TV on that LCD/CRT. You can get DVD player, Tivo, and all that other stuff out of a standard PC pretty easily these days.