What's new

How do I tell people that BOSE is not high end?? (1 Viewer)

Thomas_Berg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Thomas
i'm a lowly freshman in college with a nice HT (given the situation) that includes an SVS 25-31PC. when i bring people into the room for a quick demo of the stuff, they are, of course, blown away. the question i get almost EVERY time (after the initial 'wow') is, "Why didn't you go with BOSE?!"
the first time this happened, i went into detail about how, even though he'd heard of Bose and thinks they're top-notch, my friend had never actually heard them in comparison with another speaker. i then rant and rave until i go hoarse and give another person a demo. here's where the cycle restarts and i get sick of saying the same sphiel. (i'm thinking of handing out pre-recorded cassettes
wink.gif
)
my question to you is: how do i get people to understand that Bose blows? remember, these are college kids who dont have alot of inate discerning powers. i'm really PO'd when someone comes to me and tells me that their Bose system at home is better than mine b/c they paid more for it.
furious.gif

thanks for looking and/or responding, as this is not the most important topic!
------------------
-Thomas
Click here to visit my webpage.

Jeffrey Forner

Screenwriter
Just tell them the truth. Tell them that in relation to other products in the same price range (or even in those below it), Bose speakers do not sound as good. Tell them how people's perceptions of Bose as a cutting-edge speaker company are mostly created by a slick marketing campaign. Tell them that most hardcore audiophiles, who practically revolve their life around getting the best possible sound, frown upon the Bose label, because it just doesn't sound as good for the money you spend.