What's new

Home Theater Room? Suggestions? (1 Viewer)

rd79

Grip
Real Name
Robb
My brother is making a home theater in his house. The room is 19' x 12' I believe. He wants to do it right so he wants to set up the wiring in the walls beforehand so he can have that done and then go from there. He wants to have a good sound system in there (in-wall/in-ceiling speakers, 5.2/7.2 system, etc...) and I think he's kind of overwhelmed with most of it. There's a big window in there but I think he's going to get some room darkening fabric for that.

I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions for a beginner home theater room for audio, video and the screen.

Audio: I'm really a novice in this area.

Video: I suggested the Optoma HD20 projector because its a great price and gets great reviews in the home theater category.

Screen: I think he wants to have a motorized screen around 120". I suggested an EliteScreens VMAX2 120' screen but he could probably go with a similar Elitescreens 120" screens for less (Model ELECTRIC125H). I suggested EliteScreens because I can get them through a distributor so I'm familiar with them. I would absolutely want a Black Diamond because those look amazing but I think that's too expensive for a beginner theater.

How important is screen size to how far back the viewing area should be? I've read or heard about formulas or ratios to go by buy does it really matter? Can you just get as big a screen as you want that will fit in your room?

Robb

CB750

Screenwriter
Real Name
Bill
Originally Posted by rd79

He wants to have a good sound system in there (in-wall/in-ceiling speakers, 5.2/7.2 system, etc...) and I think he's kind of overwhelmed with most of it.