What's new

help with receiver/speaker selection requested (1 Viewer)

binocularfight

Auditioning
Real Name
susie
hey everyone! i'm brand new to these forums, so if i make a faux pas, i apologize in advance. thanks so much ahead of time for reading this and for your help.

i'm fairly new to home theater stuff. i've had a projector for about three years, but i've only been using a pair of rca wireless speakers for sound. i'm moving up to the world of owning a receiver, and i know very little about it. i'm trying to figure out what receiver and speakers to purchase. here's what i require:

- i don't have a tv or cable (you're probably tempted to tell me i'm a total weirdo right now. i've heard it all before, but feel free to try to come up with something new), so i don't need to input that.
- i need to input my dvd player (probably going to purchase a new one with hdmi soon, but current player uses s-video for video and rca cables for audio) and my vcr (uses rca cables)
- i'd like to be able to hook up my record player and ipod
- i'd like for it to have a radio, and built in tuner presets would be nice (only need about 10, but 20 would be great)
- i'd love for the speakers to be wireless because i'm too lazy to wire them in my house (but if price is too high, i'm willing to go wired)
- i'd like to spend less than $600 total on the package of receiver and speakers (and less than that would be way better).
- the projector i use is several years old and is a sharp notevision pg-b10s (i'm thinking of upgrading to a new projector soon, though, and i'll probably post about that in a different section).